They Risk Their Lives For You, Can You Say 2 Little Words?

So I’m a military brat. My dad is in the military, and so was my grandfather, and some great uncle, and just about every generation for about forever. Actually, before I continue, let me just put it out there that I am not planning on joining the military, I love it, but its just so not for me. Anyways, so today is the day that we honor our nations heroes and those that have served. Government workers get today off, but why don’t schools? Back when I was at a DoDEA (Department of Defense Education Activity) school, every veterans day we would have a flag ceremony and assembly to say thanks to our parents that serve in the military, and our teachers (many of them are veterans themselves). Veterans day was a pretty big deal. So now I’m at a private school and we had a moment of silence as we walked out of the auditorium after assembly. Meaning, get out of earshot of the teachers and start talking. Actually, I’ve got to give them some credit, they were more respectful than I would have thought, but I personally don’t think that this day was truly celebrated to its full potential. My mom is a teacher at an international school close by, and she was complaining last night that the school doesn’t even have an American flag anywhere. Sure, they’re an international school, not American, they’re aren’t obligated to have one, but isn’t the United States their host country? Shouldn’t they show some form of thanks? The school hasn’t even mentioned Veterans Day yet. My mom obviously will talk to her students about it, she’s pretty passionate about this topic.

Maybe its because of my military background that makes me give more respect to our nations heroes than my peers and most others, but Veterans Day is a holiday. It’s only one day a year to just say thank you show a little respect. Even if you don’t agree with war and you didn’t ask them to go and fight for your freedom, they still go out there and fight. They risk their lives, can you risk two words?

Image

Leave a comment